V-Lex: Writing Competition 2020: Shortlisted entries

We are pleased to announce the official shortlist for the Justis International Law & Technology Writing Competition 2020. With entries from students at 98 universities in 30 countries around the world, this year’s shortlist demonstrates the truly global nature of the competition. We’re excited to announce shortlisted entries from India to Trinidad and Tobago, as well as entries from students at institutions in the US, UK, Australia, Ireland, Italy, Canada, Belarus, the Netherlands and Indonesia.

Each year our team is impressed with the quality of the entries from students around the world, and this year we have had a difficult time choosing a shortlist from such a fantastic range of entries. We would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who entered and wish the students who have been shortlisted the best of luck in the next stage of the competition.”

Dr Matthew Terrell, Head of Marketing

The official Writing Competition 2020 shortlist 


Access to justice and technology

Armin Amirsolimani, University College London, UK

Aparajita Arya, BPP University, UK

Caitlin Brand, Monash University, Australia

Ankur Mishra, Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, India

Olumayowa Oluwasanmi, Dalhousie University, Canada

Derakhshan Qurban-Ali, McGill University, Canada

Jeffrey Law Lee Sheng, Cardiff Univerity, UK

Thomas Shepherd, City, University of London, UK

Malwina Anna Wojcik, University of Bologna, Italy

Nada Zameer, Kingston University London, UK


Social media, data and privacy

Kirsee Ali, Hugh Wooding Law School, Trinidad & Tobago

Ee Hsiun Chong, University of Oxford, St John’s College, UK

Henry Dyer, University of York, UK

Jakub Grzybowski, Macquarie University, Australia

William Holmes, University of Bristol, UK

Eoin Leavy, Dublin City University, Ireland

Yap Han Lun, Queen Mary, University of London, UK

Alicia Martinez, American University, US

Thomas St John, University of Sydney, Australia

Janis Wong, University of St Andrews, UK


Technology & the future of legal practice

Kirsee Ali, Hugh Wooding Law School, Trinidad & Tobago

Anna Chiettini, Bocconi University, Italy

Parthabi Kanungo, Maastricht University, Netherlands

Michelle Abiah Leo, Universitas Indonesia, Indonesia

Alicia Lim, London School of Economics and Political Science, UK

Wei Sheng Neo, BPP University, UK

Evan Schryver, Oxford Brookes University, UK

Payal Shah, University of Warwick, UK

Aliaksandra Undrul, Belarusian State University, Belarus

Laura Yates, Oxford Brookes University, UK


Next steps – judging begins

The shortlisted entries are now with our panel of judges, who will determine the winner of the £2,000 grand prize and publication in the Legal Cheek Journal. Best in Category winners will each receive £250 and their articles will be published on our blog.

Not shortlisted? Don’t worry!

As we received so many good entries across all three categories, we will be reviewing and selecting the notable entries in the competition. In previous years such entries have been published as a blog by us; more information will be posted on social media soon.